Equality efforts honored by Heritage Award

Jason Hawk | Oberlin News-Tribune Carol Lasser presents the Ohio Civil War 150 Heritage Award Linda Isabel and Che Gonzalez during Juneteenth festivities Saturday on Tappan Square.

Oberlin’s Juneteenth organizers were presented Saturday with the Ohio Civil War 150 Heritage Award from the Ohio Civil War 150th Advisory Committee, established in 2009 by an executive directive of former Gov. Ted Strickland.

The committee provides guidance to the Ohio History Connection (formerly the Ohio Historical Society) on programs and activities to ensure a successful commemoration of the sesquicentennial of the Civil War at both the state and local levels.

The award was presented by Carol Lasser of the Ohio Civil War 150 Advisory Committee. She is an Oberlin resident and professor of history at Oberlin College.

Accepting were Linda Isabel and Che Gonzalez, members of the Juneteenth programming committee.

The Civil War 150 Heritage Awards were created to recognize the outstanding work being done by people and organizations across Ohio that have had a significant impact on saving and sharing the state’s Civil War history.

Juneteenth board members here were lauded for helping Ohioans to recognize the importance of the ongoing struggle for equality.

For more than 20 years, Oberlin Juneteenth has hosted events recognizing the city’s history of commitment to abolition and the cause of freedom.

In 2004, Juneteenth was established as an official day of celebration and commemoration, and Juneteenth Oberlin was incorporated that same year to promote and coordinate this established holiday.