15 file in Oberlin council race

Voters will get a full field of 15 candidates this November in the selection of Oberlin city council members.

The long list of locals will vie for seven open seats. All sitting council members save Kristin Peterson have filed to seek re-election but will have their fair share of competition.

Those who met Wednesday’s deadline to seek office include (in alphabetical order):

• David Ashenhurst

• Scott Broadwell

• Don Bryant

• Bryan Burgess

• Peter Comings

• Eugene Matthews

• Elizabeth Meadows

• Scott Medwid

• Jeanne McKibben

• Sharon Pearson

• Ronnie Rimbert

• Kelley Singleton

• Linda Slocum

• Dave Sokoll

• Sharon Fairchild-Soucy

Of all the nonpartisan elections taking part this fall countywide, the Oberlin council race is the largest.

Those chosen by voters will serve two-year terms.

Incumbents Barry Richard and Ken Stanley have filed to keep their seats on Oberlin board of education and are unopposed.

Three residents are in the running for two open seats on the Firelands board of education. They are Mark Leshinski, Tom Myers, and Michael O’Keefe.

In Kipton, Robert Meilander is the sole candidate running for mayor and as such wins the job. Adrienne Cornelius, Patricia Eschen, Michael Hill, and Ronald Wiles have all filed to vie for two open seats on village council.

James Woodrum will keep his trustee seat in Camden Township, unopposed, and Cheryl Parrish will continue to serve as fiscal officer.

In New Russia Township, Kelly Cameron will serve as trustee and Lisa Marie Akers will be fiscal officer.

Tari Diedrick will serve as fiscal officer in Pittsfield Township and Daniel Louis Clark and Mark Diedrick have filed to contest one open trustee seat.

The Lorain County board of elections must evaluate each candidate’s petitions and verify they contain the appropriate number of signatures from registered voters by Aug. 17.

Valerie Urbanik can be reached at 440-775-1611 or @ValUrbanik on Twitter.