Oberlin Community Candidates Night is Oct. 9

Staff Report

A nonpartisan forum featuring candidates for Oberlin public offices will be held Monday, Oct. 9 at the First Church in Oberlin, 106 North Main St.

Eight candidates are running for seven city council seats, which carry two-year terms: Heather Adelman, Bryan Burgess, William Jindra, Sharon Pearson, Kristin Peterson, Ronnie Rimbert, Kelley Singleton, and Linda Slocum.

Seven candidates are vying for three Oberlin City Schools board of education seats, which carry four-year terms: Albert Borroni, Isabella Moreno, Sandra Redd, Anne Schaum, Steven Thompson, Jason Williams, and Kenneth Yancey. Laura Jones has withdrawn from the race.

Moderator Alison Ricker, co-president of the League of Women Voters of Ohio, will pose questions to the candidates.

Refreshments will be served at 6:30 p.m. and the forum begins at 7 p.m.

Those attending the Oberlin Community Candidates Night will receive a voter guide printed by the League, containing nonpartisan information on the candidates and the ballot issues.

Oberlin Cable Co-op will tape the Oberlin Community Candidates Night forum and broadcast it on Channel 9 through the end of Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 7. Check the co-op schedule for broadcast hours.

For more than 25 years, the Oberlin Community Candidates Night has been sponsored by a nonpartisan coalition of Oberlin community groups.

The 2017 event is officially sponsored by Community Peace Builders, First Church in Oberlin Outreach and Service Committee, Kendal at Oberlin, League of Women Voters of the Oberlin Area, Oberlin NAACP, Oberlin Friends Meeting, and Oberlin Unitarian Universalist Fellowship Social Justice Team.

The event is also supported by the Oberlin Black Alliance for Progress, Oberlin Business Partnership, Oberlin College Office of Community and Government Relations, and Oberlin Community Services.

Staff Report