Give climate credit where climate credit is due

To the editor:

I am always surprised when people elect to give credit to others for good things those people had little or nothing to do with.

Ken Sloane writes in his current letter to the News-Tribune that Scott Broadwell, Ronnie Rimbert, and Sharon Soucy voted for sustainability-associated legislation. This is misleading. Truth be told, they had little to do with these notable accomplishments.

The city has a respectable Climate Action Plan passed in 2013 that was a total rewrite of the “rough draft” CAP passed earlier. It was councilman Bryan Burgess who pointed out many weaknesses and flaws in the original CAP and forced city council to facilitate a major rewrite.

The city becoming a Clinton Climate Positive City was the work of David Orr. City council had little to do with this, except to accept the honor. The current city council leadership is falling short on meeting the challenge of becoming climate positive.

The council people responsible for making Oberlin’s electricity portfolio 90 percent renewable or carbon neutral were David Sonner, David Ashenhurst, Charles Peterson, and Jack Bauman in 2008-2009. In fact, Broadwell, Rimbert, and Soucy initially opposed this shift. This is to be expected because in 2007 and again in 2008 they voted for 50 years of coal-based electricity.

Also inconsistent with being champions of sustainability is their opposition to investing the city’s REC revenue in energy efficiency, energy conservation, green-house gas reductions and development of green power generation resources.

Clearly a vote for these incumbent candidates is not a vote for sustainability. Especially when compared to incumbents Burgess, Meadows, and Pearson as well as a particularly strong new candidate, Gene Mathews.

Mary McDaniel