Oberlin College to induct four alumni athletes to Heisman hall of fame

Four memorable athletes will be inducted to the John W. Heisman Club hall of fame in a homecoming weekend ceremony at Oberlin College.

Homer Gilchrist, Douglas Walker, Alaina Fotiu-Wojtowicz, and Courtney Stackhouse will be honored at 6 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 2.

To attend, registration is required at www.alumni.oberlin.edu/HeismanHOF2015.

Gilchrist is a 1958 graduate of Oberlin College and hailed as one of the most accomplished men’s basketball players in Yeomen history. From his very first time on the hardwood as a freshman, he started every career game.

As a junior, he set the single-game rebounding record with 29 against Kenyon College. He was OC’s all-time leader with 959 career rebounds and the first player to exceed 1,000 points.

He left OC with 1,233 points to his name.

Walker, a 1982 graduate, is one of just 23 men’s swimmers in Yeomen history to earn All-American honors. He made repeat showings at Ohio Athletic Conference championship meets and in his final year at Oberlin coached the water polo club.

Women’s tennis star Fotiu-Wojtowicz graduated in 2003 after receiving All-North Coast Athletic Conference laurels eight times, including two first-team singles and three first-team doubles selections.

She was named team MVP in both her junior and senior years at Oberlin.

Stackhouse also graduated in 2003. A key member of the OC women’s soccer team, she excelled on the track as a sprinter, breaking school and North Coast Athletic Conference records.

She was also named Most Valuable Sprinter three times.

In 2000, she won the 55-meter and 200-meter dashes at the indoor championships, and then went on to win the 100- and 200-meter events at the outdoor meet — resulting in back-to-back NCAC Most Valuable Performer laurels.

Stackhouse finished with 10 NCAC individual titles over her tenure and holds the school record in the 55-meter dash with a time of 7.30 seconds.

Information courtesy of Oberlin College communications department.